The Palanga Amber Museum was established on August 3, 1963. It is housed on the estate of Count Feliksas Tiskevicius (1865-1932). The estate, designed by German architect Franc Schwechten (1841-1924), was built in 1897. The Palanga Botanical Gardens, designed by the landscape architect Eduard Francois Andre (1840-1911), surround the Estate.
Palangos Gintaro Muziejus
Vytauto Str. 17
Tel: (8-236) 51319, 53501
Hours of operation
Sept. – May: Tues. – Sun., 11 am – 5 pm
June – Aug.: Tues. – Sun., 10 am – 8 pm
Sundays and evenings preceding federal holidays the Museum closes one hour early
Closed on federal holidays
The Palanga Amber Museums exposition takes up 15 rooms. About 4,500 exhibit pieces are found here. Visitors are acquainted with the formation, processing, practical application, and morphological variations of amber. The museum has a wealth of amber pieces with trapped insects or plants, a collection of unique pieces of amber, and examples of fossilized tree resin brought from all over the world.
The Palanga Amber Museum is a branch of the Lithuanian Art Museum. About 8 million people have come to visit the Palanga Amber Museum.
The Museum is becoming famous for its traditional cultural events. For 30 summers now the terrace has been home to the night serenade concerts. Interesting cultural events and meetings with artists take place in the Fireplace Hall of the Estate.
Palanga Amber Museums Exhibits
Antanas Tranyzas: About the Amber Museum of Palanga
© Samogitian Cultural Association Editorial
Page updated 2014.09.01.
Comments to: firstname.lastname@example.org